Short – Cold Steel [WIP]

I stare up at the sky listlessly.

The middle of the night looks as pretty as usual. Rummaging through my pockets, I found my lighter and cigarette. Puffs of smoke lit up and found company with the moon.

“…Haah.”

Dousing myself in this quietness as I look up in faint moonlight washes my troubles away. Peace to the mind from the noise of city life, where I finally find time alone.

The residential district’s silent, as it’s well past midnight for anyone to be around. Of course I’m no exception. As a student myself, I was constantly kept on a tight leash with curfews and schedules which I was forced to follow. Needless to say, if my mother ever found out about my night strolls every weekend I’d most likely be grounded for months on end.

Despite this, I sometimes go even as far as the next town and only return home about four in the morning. There is beauty in a nocturnal life, where I could see the sights and sounds all alone at my own pace.

“All alone?”

Suddenly someone speaks from my back. I turned around and saw a hauntingly beautiful figure. She took out a knife and stabbed through my chest.

The end.

Leave a comment